Texas Real Estate Sales Agent Requirements

Texas Real Estate License Requirements

In order to receive your Texas Real Estate Sales Agent’s License you must complete:

180 hours of education (6 courses – 30 hours each).

TREC Required Texas Real Estate License courses:

Principles I
Principles II
Law of Agency
Law of Contracts
Finance I
Promulgated Contract Forms

All of these courses can be completed by taking our Success Pack X6.

The necessary steps to obtain your license can be viewed on our Sales Agent Licensing Steps page.


To be eligible to apply for a real estate Sales Agent License, an individual must be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien, eighteen (18) years of age or older and a legal resident of Texas.

Related course credit may no longer be used to meet education requirements for a salesperson’s license.

Effective 09/1/2010 an “educational evaluation” is no longer required prior to submitting an application to TREC for a license.